Professional Learning Communities Resources - (Faculty)

What resources are available for my research?

Avenues Library provides a number of quality resources to aid you in your research; from individual subscriptions to journals and magazines to packages of hundreds of academic journals available through our many databases. We also have a professional development section of the library on the 8th floor where we make available books targeting specific educational and professional topics. Consult a list below of some solid choices for your research..

Avenues offers professional development books focused a variety of subjects that may be useful to our teachers. Start by searching our Secondary Division Online Catalog: Destiny Discover or by physically browsing the section on the 8th floor near the Mastery Room. See the video tutorial below on how to view the professional development area via our online catalog. 

• Search by title, author, or keyword
• Limit to the Professional Development collection (8th floor)

Ordering or Requesting Material

Would you and your group be interested in using or reading a book that requires multiple copies? Please get in touch with the library team to discover what options might be available to get you and your group the material you need in a timely manner. We may be able to make available an eBook copy, physical copies, or other formats, depending on your need and availability. Contact the Library team via library-sp @ avenues-sp.org or via Teams. 

Databases: There are a number of high quality academic databases where one can find scientific articles from leading journals in education, science, management, & other subjects. 

• Eric - Eric is a bibliographic and full-text database of education related academic content. Watch the example search in Eric showing the relevance of descriptors and filters in the video below. You'll also learn how to see if Avenues offers access to content that may be unavailable on Eric. **See tips on using Eric in a video below. Many of our faculty showed interest in Brain-Based Learning, for example. ERIC could be a great place to start to find recent articles on this topic. 
• Publication Finder - Use Avenue's publication finder to see the school's access to specific academic journals, newspapers, and magazines
• Avenues One Search - Avenues One Search is a meta search bringing together many of our databases in one search interface. **See tips on using One Search in a video below
• Academic Search Premier -  A leading database that offers academic full-text articles on a variety of subjects, like; biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education, and more
• eLibrary - An excellent resource for finding academic, news, and magazine articles for wide-ranging subjects
• JSTOR
• Oasisbr - Por meio de uma única interface, o Oasisbr dá acesso às mais diversas tipologias documentais que contém informações científicas, a saber: artigos científicos, livros, capítulos de livros, artigos apresentados em conferências, conjuntos de dados de pesquisa, preprints, dissertações, teses, trabalhos de conclusão de curso, etc.
• Scielo - SciELO is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals focused on Latin America, Iberian Peninsula and South Africa. 
• All SD Library Resources

**Top tip! Almost all the resources above are part of One Search. It is a great place to start your research. But, it always pays to consult the individual databases that you deem important to take advantage of the special search features each utilizes. This will give you a more fine tuned experience and result set. 

Eric is a bibliographic and full-text database of education related academic content. Watch the example search in Eric showing the relevance of descriptors and filters. You'll also learn how to see if Avenues offers access to content that may be unavailable on Eric. 

Many of our faculty showed interest in Brain-Based Learning, for example. ERIC could be a great place to start to find recent articles on this topic.